RESTON, Va. (August 6, 2012) — Public Interest Registry (PIR), the not-for-profit operator of the .ORG domain, today announced the appointment of new members to its .ORG Advisory Council. Since its creation in 2003, the .ORG Advisory Council has been a valuable resource for the PIR leadership team by providing advice on policy, outreach and new services to improve registry operations and to support the global, noncommercial .ORG community.

The Council consists of 15 members with at least two from each of the following six regions: Asia/Middle East, Asia Pacific, Africa, Europe, North America and Latin America. During their term, council members will advise on a number of core issues central to .ORG including global outreach, Internet security and key policy initiatives unique to running a top-level registry. All members are hand-selected for their three-year terms in accordance with the Charter of the Council by the PIR Board of Directors.

“The .ORG domain now serves over 10 million organizations, companies and individuals globally,” said Brian Cute, CEO of Public Interest Registry. “The .ORG Advisory Council has had and will continue to have a critical role in that success by assuring that PIR continues to serve in the public interest. We look forward to working with this distinguished group of individuals and have complete confidence that their expertise and input will be invaluable assets in addressing the issues facing .ORG and our community of Internet users.”

Newly elected members of the .ORG Advisory Council include:

  • Allan Salahedin (Palestine)
  • Thomas Mackenzie (UK)
  • Justin Watts (Australia)
  • Tim Nurul Kabir (Bangladesh)
  • Kathy Brown (USA)
  • JoAnn Patrick-Ezzell (USA)
  • Alex Corenthin (Senegal)
  • Guy Tete Benissan (Senegal)
  • Marie-Laure Lemineur (Costa Rica)

In addition, per the PIR Council Charter, Robin Gross has been invited to serve on the Advisory Council to represent the Non-Commercial Domain Name Holders Constituency (NCDNHC). Chosen for their breadth of expertise and geographical reach, these members join five current council members: Alaa Aldin Alradhi (Jordan), Hans Peter Dittler (Germany), Frans Gerbosch (Belgium), Marc Blanchet (Canada) and Sebastian Ricciardi (Argentina).

For information on the .ORG Advisory Council or PIR, please go to

Categories: Press Release .